WTF!? Irish used in English

In this What the Focal!? video I’m talking about Irish words that are used AS GAEILGE in the middle of a sentence that otherwise AS BÉARLA.

The words featured in the video are the based on responses I got on Twitter.

In my opinion this is different from the Irish words that are present in Hiberno English, because with Hiberno English the speaker might not even be aware that the word/ structure they are using has a basis in Irish. Whereas the words in the below video are used consciously.

FULL DISCLOSURE: I’m not a linguist! But if you are, and have a proper linguistic description of what I am trying to put into words then please get in touch!

p.s. I know the poem is not my best work – but it was a good device to list off the words!

Leave a Reply

